No1 Pig Fan

for all lovers of pigs in Nigeria

Benefits of Poultry Litter/waste in a Piggery

harvesting poultry litter

Here is a quick tip for the everyday pig farmer desirous of implementing different ways of reducing feed cost for his Pigs.

This method of feed ration emphasis the benefit of integrated farming, or if you have a poultry farmer next door. Its all about the wonders of including dry poultry litter in your pig feed ration.

Although I had reviewed numerous research works on this system, I had been sceptical of its benefits, but with feeding costs biting harder I had a chat with a fellow pig farmer who encouraged me to embrace this approach recently……Apparently this farmer had been using this system for years with good results at an inclusion rate of 30%. I couldn’t resist the temptation any longer and the pigs have found this inclusion very nourishing, with costs greatly reduced.

This research work discuses it: Utilisation of sun-dried on-farm generated poultry litter as a feed source for growing-finishing pigs

Give it shot and share how its been working for you.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Benefits of Poultry Litter/waste in a Piggery

  1. Lagbaja on said:

    Great article. I have come across the article too. I only needed someone who have done it to confirm the veracity. Now I can move with it.

  2. Ademola adesida on said:

    I enjoyed the write up how can I be part of this program. I am into poultry farming and I want know more about it.

  3. Ademola adesida on said:

    I enjoyed the write up how can I be part of this program. I am into poultry farming and I want know more about it.
    I have not made comment before.

Leave a Reply

